After a Celiac Diagnosis, what Grains should I Avoid?

A celiac diagnosis confirms that eating gluten, a protein found in grains, causes your body to attack its own digestive tract. Only certain types of gluten, however, will trigger your body’s response. If you’ve been diagnosed with celiac disease, you’re going to need to avoid the top three gluten offenders:

Wheat
Rye
Barley
All three grains contain gluten, and should be avoided in any form. (Technically, most grains contain some form of the gluten protein, but only these specific grains have the gluten we’re talking about.) ¬†Individuals with celiac should also be aware that some oats contain gluten contamination after being shipped or processed with wheat, rye or barley. When buying oats, make sure to check for a “certified gluten free” or “processed in a gluten free facility” label.
Sometimes wheat will be called “Spelt.” This is a specific type of wheat, but it’s still unsafe. The wheat hybrid triticale is also off limits. Individuals newly diagnosed with celiac may assume that couscous, organic wheat, or ancient wheat grains (i.e. Einkorn) are safe, but this is a misconception: all contain gluten, and can do some serious damage to your gut.
Sources:
https://www.verywell.com/gluten-grain-products-that-can-fool-you-562379
http://www.healthline.com/health/allergies/gluten-food-list#Overview1

Posted in: Uncategorized